Day 26 New Ground

Well new ground was broken yesterday. I did a 30 mile ride. I did learn one thing. Riding that far in 90 degree heat for me requires more than 2 bottles of fluid. My legs felt pretty good although I did have some cramps in my calves off and on the last 7-8 miles. I think maybe due to fluids. It was a good ride though that I felt put me back on track.
I also made a new purchase. I bought a handle bar mounted case for my iPhone which I am using as a cycling computer right now (probably a rookie move). One thing I do know is the battery certainly will not last long enough for me to make a 100 mile ride. It’s a neat case though that is splash proof. Here’s a picture.
image

Also going to need new tires soon. Any size recommendations? Right now I think my bike has a 700×23 on the front and a 700×25 on the rear. Any reason to run different widths? It is what was on it when I got it.

2 comments

  1. The iPhone as the computer is not a rookie move, though it’s not perfect (I have a stem mount for my life proof case. The reason for the different size tires is that rolling resistance improves with the wider tire but aerodynamics decreases. With the wind broken with the front 23, there is plenty if room for the back 25 to ‘draft’ the front. I run two 23’s so I can rotate them, they last longer that way.

Leave a comment